49 senior people, 24-hour replies. Why teams choose Humbleteam over Toptal
Toptal is a marketplace that matches you with one freelance designer from its network. We are a 49-person product design team that replies within 24 hours and took a banking MVP from zero to a tested product in 5 days.
Facts about Toptal from their own site · October 7, 2026

How each company describes itself
Toptal
Toptal describes itself as “a marketplace for top UI, UX, Visual, Interaction designers, and more.” Its designer page says that of more than 200,000 people who apply each year, fewer than 3% are accepted.
Hiring takes about 48 hours, with an average match time under 24 hours. Designers work hourly, part-time, or full-time across 41 listed specializations, and each engagement starts with a trial of up to 2 weeks. Rates are not published, and the page we read does not state the company’s own size or location.

Humbleteam
We answer a new enquiry within 24 hours, and a project can start next week with a full team behind it. That team took an ING banking MVP from zero to a tested product in 5 days.
You get strategy, research, UX/UI, brand, and design systems from one company: 49 people in Prague and Dubai, senior designers averaging 9 years of experience, 56 fintechs and 30+ major banks shipped, and 200+ projects since 2017. Our 35 Clutch reviews average 4.9, with speed named again and again.

Why teams hire us instead of a Toptal freelancer
Speed from a whole team, depth across disciplines, and a record behind every person.

A tested product from a team
Our team took a B2B banking MVP for ING from zero to tested in 5 days and designed and user-tested an ING small-business prototype in 23 days. The average brief reaches a clickable prototype in 2 weeks, and AI skills make our work 20–40% faster. Kickoff can be as soon as next week.

Every discipline under one roof
Toptal’s page lists designers by specialization. We put strategy, UX research, UX/UI, brand identity, and design systems on the same project, with depth in regulated products: 56 fintechs shipped and 30+ major banks. We also install AI agents inside your design team for handoff, QA, and design-to-code drafts, and they stay after we leave.

A team with a public track record
We’ve been delivering since 2017: 200+ projects and 80+ design awards, 14 of them Awwwards wins. The seniors on your project average 9 years, and the faces on your first call are the people doing the work. On Clutch the team holds 4.9 across 35 reviews, and 70% of clients come back for more.
Humbleteam vs Toptal, side by side
Every Toptal fact here is from their own site. Where they publish nothing, the row says so.
| Compared on | Humbleteam | Toptal |
|---|---|---|
| Time to a tested prototype | 5 days from zero to a tested B2B banking MVP with ING Amsterdam | Not published on their site |
| Brief to first clickable prototype | 2 weeks on average | Not published on their site |
| Who does the work | A team covering strategy, research, UX/UI, brand, and design systems, from 49 people | A freelance designer matched from their network, hired hourly, part-time, or full-time |
| Senior experience | 9 years on average for the senior designers on a project | Not published as an average; screening says fewer than 3% of applicants are accepted |
| Fintech and regulated depth | 56 fintechs shipped and 30+ major banks | Not published on their designer page |
| AI in delivery | AI agents installed in your design team, and our own work 20–40% faster with AI | Not published on their designer page |
| Independent proof | 4.9 on Clutch across 35 reviews; 80+ design awards, 14 from Awwwards | Not published on their designer page |
When Toptal is the better call
Two cases where a single hire fits.
You need one more seat on staff
Toptal hires individual designers hourly, part-time, or full-time, with a trial of up to 2 weeks. If your own team will direct the work and only needs one more person, that model fits.
You need one niche skill
Toptal lists 41 designer specializations, from 3D animators to web designers, hired hourly or part-time. For a single niche skill on a short task, a marketplace hire fits the job.
What a full team brings
People, experience, and proof in three numbers.
49
people in Prague and Dubai
European and Gulf hours
9 years
average senior experience
the people on the first call do the work
200+
projects since 2017
80+ design awards along the way
Team-built work you can check
A healthtech brand, a fintech product, and the AI service.
Put us on the shortlist.
Send your product and the decision you are trying to make. We reply with the cases closest to it, a timeline and an estimate — and we will say so if the other option is the better fit.
Questions?
Is Humbleteam a good alternative to Toptal?
Yes, when the work needs a team rather than one person. We are 49 people covering strategy, research, UX/UI, brand, and design systems, and we took an ING banking MVP to a tested product in 5 days. Toptal matches you with one freelance designer from a network it says accepts fewer than 3% of applicants. We add 56 fintechs and a 4.9 Clutch rating.
Humbleteam or Toptal: who delivers faster?
Humbleteam, measured by time to a tested product: a banking MVP tested in 5 days, an ING small-business prototype designed and user-tested in 23 days, and a first clickable prototype 2 weeks after a signed brief on average. Toptal publishes its time to hire, about 48 hours, but not a time to a tested prototype. We answer within 24 hours, and a full team can begin next week.
Which is better for building a full product with a team?
Humbleteam. A product needs research, UX/UI, brand, and a design system working together, and we staff all of them from one 49-person team. Our depth covers 56 fintechs, 30+ major banks, and 30+ healthtech platforms studied. Toptal’s model is one freelancer per hire, chosen from 41 listed specializations, so assembling a full product team means several separate hires.
How big is each team, and who does the work?
Humbleteam brings 49 people in Prague and Dubai, and the senior designers you meet first, with 9 years of experience on average, design the product. Toptal is a marketplace: the work is done by the freelance designer you hire from its network. The designer page we read does not state Toptal’s own headcount or location.
How much does each cost, and how soon can we start?
Neither company publishes rates. Toptal says cost depends on talent location, project size, seniority, and engagement commitment, and it offers a trial of up to 2 weeks. We sell a fixed-price audit, scoped implementation, or a monthly retainer, with the estimate on the first call. Our reply takes under 24 hours, and a team can start next week.
Other comparisons
Same structure, same sourcing rules, one page per shortlist we keep meeting.
What we checked, and when
Everything stated about Toptal on this page comes from their own public pages, read onOctober 7, 2026. We describe what they are strong at, not what they are bad at. If something here is out of date or wrong, write to hi@humbleteam.com and we will fix the page.
- toptal.com/designers — model, screening, time to hire and trial · read October 7, 2026
Last updated



